Home Customize Customize Customize
Nijo Castle aerial shot

A must-visit in Kyoto | World Heritage Motoli Palace Nijo Castle | Witness the rise and fall of the Tokugawa family and the ups and downs of Japan's prosperity for hundreds of years

Last update date: 2022-06-19

Nijo Castle, also known as Nijo Imperial Palace, is located in Kyoto, Japan, and is the residence of the Shogun in Kyoto. Nijo Castle was built in 1603 and was the symbol of power of the Edo shogunate. There are tall walls of about 500 meters from east to west and 400 meters from north to south, and trenches are dug. There is a corridor in Nijo Castle called "Orioles floor", people walking on it will make a sound like the chirping of a yellow warbler. The Honmaru Palace and the Ninomaru Palace are the main buildings of Nijo Castle. The architecture of "Ninomaru" is very distinctive. There are famous paintings of hunting wild school painters on the walls and partitions of the hall, which are exquisite. The annual plum and chrysanthemum season is a good time to visit.

Some people will say it is two "Tiao" cities, others say it is two "Tiao" cities, but they are all talking about the same place

In 1994, wasUnited Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural OrganizationincludedWorld HeritagemiddleCultural properties of the ancient capital of Kyotoone. In a narrow sense, Nijo Castle isEdo periodThe city built, but in a broad sense, refers to the thirteenth generationMuromachi ShogunategeneralAshikaga Yoshikicity of residence,Oda NobunagaFor the fifteenth generation generalsAshikaga YoshiakiThe built city (the above information is taken from the wiki)

▌ Kyoto Nijo Castle related information

- transportation-

  • About a 3-minute walk from the Nijo-jo-mae train station
  • About a 2-minute walk from the city bus "Nijojo-mae" stop
  • About 15 minutes on foot from JR Nijo Station

The most valuable tickets:
One and two-day pass for Keihan Railway and Otsukyoyama Cable Car: Klook Deals
Keihan Electric Railway One and Two Day Pass: Kkday discount,Klook Deals

Kyoto subway is not very sound, if you want to walk a little less, you can considerTake a bus
If you are worried about getting lost, bring this Chinese version with youKyoto bus route map Bar

Kyoto Bus One Day Pass, you'll get your money back if you take three trips,KKday discount

– Addresses and Maps –

541 Nijo Castle Town, Nijo-dori Horikawa West, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto City

– Tickets –

Kyoto Nijo Castle & Ninomaru Palace Admission Ticket:Kkday discount , Klook Deals

Half-Day Kyoto Walking Tour: Nijo Castle & Nishiki Market & Gion

– Opening hours –

8:45-16:00 (closed at 17:00)

to take a look firstClosing time, Honnomaru Palace, Ninomaru Palace closing time

▌ Nijo Castle has a different style

In the 12th year of Eiroku (1569), Oda Nobunaga began to build Nijo Castle at Ashikaga Yoshiaki's residence. In the first year of Tianzheng (1573), Nobunaga burned the city after exiling Yoshizaki, and then built another imperial palace in other places, and dedicated it to Prince Chengren. In the tenth year of Tianzheng (1582), the Honneng Temple Incident broke out. Nobunaga's eldest son, Nobunaga, set himself on fire at the Nijo Imperial Palace.
After the Battle of Sekihara, it was rebuilt when Ieyasu, who gained the world, met Toyotomi Hideyoshi in Kyoto. The Yuanli Palace Nijo Castle, which is listed as a world cultural heritage, was built under the order of Tokugawa Ieyasu. The main purpose of building the castle was to give Tokugawa clansmen and military commanders a place to rest when they visited Kyoto. The largest building complex in the city, the Ninomaru Palace, was completed in 1603. Then, the third-generation shogun, Tokugawa Iemitsu, expanded the city area of the city to its current size. In 1867, the 15th-generation shogun Tokugawa. Chuan Qingxi "returned the great policy" to the imperial court, and the ceremony of returning it was in the Ninomaru Palace of Nijo Castle.

▌ Nijo Castle Stone Monument and Todaemon Gate

There are a lot of people who come to Nijo Castle for sightseeing, because they have to buy tickets to enter, if they don't buy tickets in advance, they can only line up with everyone here. There are manual and automatic coin-operated machines on site to buy tickets. When I was queuing up to buy tickets, I heard that Nijo Castle is called "Your Uncle". Because Nijo Castle is pronounced Nijo-jo in Japanese, it is easy to become "Your Uncle" in Chinese.

▌ The Tang Gate of Nijo Castle

Tangmen is a gate that must pass before entering the Ninomaru Palace. It originated in the late Heian period. It was named after the Tang Dynasty architecture. The most obvious feature is the bow-shaped "Tang Pofeng" at the top. The roof of the Tangmen is not made of copper. tiles, but made of cypress bark.

On the door are carved cranes, pine, bamboo and plums representing longevity, as well as dragons, lions, tigers and other animals. It is said that it is to protect the palace and to show the public the power of a general.

In the entire Nijo City, only Tangmen and Ninomaru Palace have such exaggerated decorations. In addition to about half of Tangmen decorated with carved gold ornaments, there are also colorful wood carving decorations.

▌ Nijo Castle Ninomaru Palace

– Ninomaru Palace –

The Ninomaru Palace was first built by Tokugawa Ieyasu and added by Tokugawa Iemitsu. It is one of the samurai academy-style buildings representing the Momoyama era. The building is composed of Yuanshi Hall, Shitai Hall, Hall, Cycad Hall, Black Academy and White Academy, arranged in a geese pattern from southeast to northwest, with a total of 33 rooms.

In 1867, Tokugawa Keiki returned to the throne and returned the ruling power to the emperor. The existing Ninomaru Palace consists of six large academy-style buildings. The painting on the screen is from the handwriting of Kano. Fully expresses the essence of Momoyama's art including sculpture and metal utensil decoration

Ninomaru Palace - a place where famous painters of the Kano School such as Tanyou, Shanle, Shangxin, Changxin and other famous painters compete against each other. A group of Kano school painters headed by Kano Tanyou painted more than 1,000 murals here.

There is the unique chrysanthemum family crest of the Tokugawa family on the roof. AaforFUN always thinks this kind of family crest in Japan is super handsome

– Ninomaru Garden –

Ninomaru Garden, Honmaru Garden and Qingliu Garden are the three major gardens of Nijo Castle

Ninomaru Garden, built according to the traditional gardening method, has a Horai Island in the center of its pond. There are Crane Island and Turtle Island on the left and right. Chinese garden style design. It is also called "spring water swimming garden". Later, in order for the Emperor Gosuio to rest and enjoy the scenery while visiting Nijo Castle in 1626, a new palace was built on the south side of the pond, and the garden was also slightly modified.

– The fishing bell in the garden-

in the gardenbronze fishing bell, is used for warning and communication during the end of the period of war.

▌ Nijo Castle Honnomaru Palace

The Honmaru Palace was built by Tokugawa Iemitsu in 1626, but it was destroyed by a fire in 1788. What we see now is the relocation of the old Katsura Palace in the Kyoto Imperial Palace in 1893. The royal palace was completely preserved and was designated as such. It is an important cultural property. The Honmaru Garden on the south side was built in 1894, and the remains of the castle tower are located in the southwest corner of the Honmaru Garden.

The Honmaru Palace has been undergoing maintenance and renovation since 2017 and is currently closed to the public. It is expected to reopen the first floor after completion in 2023 for the general public to visit. If you plan to visit Nijo Castle in the future, it is recommended to check the official website first!

Nijo Castle was the residence of the Shogun in Kyoto. Inside, there are luxurious rooms filled with paintings gleaming with gold leaf. Pass through the huge, beautifully carved and ornately decorated front door, followed by a series of meeting rooms. The first hall reinforces the impression of the shogun's power with ornate paintings, frieze, and a ceiling adorned with flat paneling. The average person is not even allowed to walk into the first hall. The inner hall is for the reception of high-ranking officials, and the decoration here is more sophisticated and the cost is higher. To guard against acts of betrayal, the shogun installed "nightingale floors", which squeaked when slightly stepped on to warn of an intrusion. There was not a single tree in the beautiful garden at that time: the shoguns did not want to see the fallen leaves, and they did not want to be reminded of the death they would face.

Leave a Reply

Home 自訂 自訂 自訂
二條城空拍

京都必訪 | 世界遺產元離宮二條城 | 見證德川家的興衰、日本數百年榮華起伏

最後更新日期: 2022-06-19

二條城又名二條御所,位於日本京都,是幕府將軍在京都的行轅。二條城建於公元1603年,是江戶幕府的權力象徵。建有東西約500米、南北約400米的高大圍牆,並挖有壕溝。二條城內名為”鸝鳴地板”的走廊,人行走其上便會發出黃鶯鳴叫般的響聲,是幕府統治者為保全自身安全而設的報警機關。本丸御殿和二之丸御殿為二條城的主要建築。”二之丸”的建築很有特色,殿內牆壁和隔門上畫有獵野派畫家的名畫,精美絕倫。每年梅花和菊花盛開的季節是遊覽的好時機。

有人會說是二”條”城,也有人說是二”条”城,但所說的都是同一個地方

1994年,被聯合國教育科學文化組織列入世界遺產中的古都京都的文化財之一。狹義上,二條城,就是江戶時代築起的城池,但是在廣義上,是指第十三代室町幕府將軍足利義輝的居城、織田信長為十五代將軍足利義昭建造的城池 (以上資訊擷取自wiki)

▌ 京都二條城相關資訊

– 交通 –

  • 電車「二条城前」站徒步約3分鐘
  • 市巴士「二条城前」站徒步約2分鐘
  • JR 「二条」 站徒步約15分鐘

最夯超值車票:
京阪電車與乙京山纜車一、二日券Klook特惠
京阪電鐵一、二日券Kkday折扣Klook特惠

京都地鐵還不是很健全,如果想要少走一點路可以考慮坐公車
如果擔心會迷路就帶上這份中文版京都公車路線圖

京都巴士一日券,搭三次就回本KKday折扣

– 地址與地圖 –

京都市中京区二条通堀川西入二条城町541

– 門票 –

京都二條城 & 二之丸御殿門票Kkday折扣Klook優惠

京都徒步半日遊:二條城&錦市場&祇園

– 開放時間 –

8:45-16:00(17:00關閉)

要先看一下休館時間、本之丸御殿、二之丸御殿休館時間

▌ 二條城不一樣的風情

永祿十二年(1569),織田信長在足利義昭的居處開始興建二條城。天正元年(1573),信長流放義昭後燒毀了這座城,然後在其它地方另築二條御所,並將之獻給城仁親王。天正十年(1582),本能寺事變爆發。信長長子信忠在二條御所放火自我了結。
關原之戰後,得到天下的家康在京都會見豐臣秀賴時重新修築。被列入世界文化遺產的元離宮二條城,是由德川家康下令興建的,築城目的主要是為了讓德川的族人及武將在造訪京都時,有個休憩的寓所。城內最大的建築群–二之丸御殿於公元1603年完工,而後,第三代將軍德川家光再將本丸內的城域擴建成現在的規模,到了1867年,第十五代將軍德川慶喜”大政奉還”於皇室朝廷,奉還的儀式就在二條城的二之丸御殿內。

▌ 二條城石碑與東大手門

來二條城觀光的人非常多,因為要買票進入,如果沒有事先買票的話就只能在這邊和大家一起排隊了。現場有人工及自動投幣機可以買票。在排隊買票的時候聽到說二條城叫作「你舅舅」,因為二條城的日文發音為 Nijo-jo,所以很容與就成了中文裡的「你舅舅」

▌ 二條城唐門

唐門是進入二之丸御殿前一定會經過的大門,起源於平安時代後期,因為取法唐朝建築而得名,最明顯的特點就是頂部弓形的「唐破風」,唐門的屋頂並未使用銅瓦,而是用檜柏樹皮所建成。

門上雕刻著代表長壽的鶴及松竹梅,還有龍、獅子、老虎等動物。據說是為了守護御殿,藉此向大眾展現將軍的權力。

整個二條城內,就只有唐門與二之丸御殿有這麼浮誇的裝飾,唐門除了一半左右用雕花金飾做點綴外,還有五彩繽紛的木雕裝飾

▌ 二條城二之丸御殿

– 二之丸御殿 –

二之丸御殿是由德川家康初建,德川家光增建而成,是代表桃山時代的武家書院式建築之一。建築物由遠侍廳、式台廳、大廳、蘇鐵廳、黑書院及白書院從東南往西北做雁行型排列而成,共33間房間

1867年,德川慶喜在此行大政奉還,將統治權交還給天皇。現存的二之丸御殿是六棟大書院式建築。而屏風上的彩繪則是出自狩野一門的手筆。充分表達了包括雕刻,金屬器具裝飾的桃山美術精粹

二之丸御殿—-探幽、山樂、尚信、長信等狩野派著名畫師的競技鬥艷之地。以狩野探幽為首的狩野派畫師團體,在此繪製出了1000余幅壁畫。

屋頂上有德川家特有的菊花家徽,AaforFUN一直覺得日本的這種家徽超帥的

– 二之丸庭園 –

二之丸庭園、本丸庭園與清流園並為二條城三大庭院

二之丸庭園,按照傳統的造園方法來建築的,在它的水池中央在建有一個蓬萊島。其左右還有鶴島和龜島。中式園林風格設計。又稱「泉水迴遊式庭園」。而後為了「後水尾天皇」於1626年遊覽二條城時能一邊休息並欣賞風景,在水池南邊又新建宮殿,庭園也做了小部分修改。

– 庭園中的釣鐘 –

庭院裡擺設的青銅釣鐘,是幕末戰亂時用來警示、連絡用

▌ 二條城本之丸御殿

本丸御殿是由德川家光在1626年修建,但因1788年的火災燒毀,目前所見的為1893年將京都御所中的舊桂離宮殿移建而成,完整保留了皇族宮殿,因而被指定為重要文化財。 南側的本丸庭園是於1894年建造,天守閣遺跡就位於本丸庭園的西南角。

本丸御殿自2017年開始進行維護整修工程,目前不對外開放,並預計於2023年完工後重新公開1樓部分讓一般民眾參觀。未來有計畫造訪二條城的話,建議先上官網確認喔!

二條城是幕府將軍在京都的行轅。內設豪華的房間,房間里掛滿了繪畫作品,畫上鍍的金箔熠熠發光。穿過雕刻精美、裝飾華麗的巨大前門,然後是一系列會見室。第一間大廳通過飾以華美的繪畫、中楣、用平頂鑲板裝飾的天花板來加深人們對於幕府將軍權力無邊的印象。一般人甚至不允許走進第一間大廳。內部的大殿是接待高級官員的,這裡的裝飾更精巧,花費也更大。因為謹防背叛行為,幕府將軍安裝了”夜鶯地板”,它能夠在輕微踩踏的情況下發出吱吱嘎嘎的聲音來警告有人入侵。那時風景優美的庭園裡沒有一棵樹:幕府將軍不想看到落葉,不願意由落葉想起他們將面對的死亡。

發佈留言